Economic situation foundry machinery

VDMA Metallurgy / Foundry Machinery: Sales in 2018 up by 17 percent and fall in single-digit range expected in 2019
Last year, sales of the German foundry machinery manufacturers exceeded expectations, with growth of 17 percent nominally, reaching a new record. However, domestic production failed to keep pace, falling by 14 percent to €927 million*. Compared with the high volume of orders recorded in 2017, orders received fell slightly, by 2 percent, in 2018. However, a clear trend was apparent in the first quarter of 2019. Compared with the upward trend seen in 2018, orders received were almost halved. Orders from countries outside the Eurozone continued their upward trend up to the end of 2018, growing by 20 percent in 2018 compared with 2017. After the end of 2018, the trend was reversed, as had previously been the case with orders from the Eurozone.
VDMA Metallurgy / Foundry Machinery – back on track for growth
In 2017, sales of German foundry equipment manufacturers recovered considerably, by 6 percent compared with the previous year. This was especially due to a rise in sales to countries outside the Eurozone, which grew by 25 percent on average compared with 2016. On average during the course of the year, orders received rose by 3 percent, starting from the strong base reached in the previous year. While there was a slight fall in orders from Germany, the positive trend in orders from the Eurozone continued.
VDMA Foundry Machinery: manufacturers expect moderate growth in sales in 2017
Worldwide, trade in the sector fell by more than 13 percent in 2016. In this environment, German foundry machinery exports rose by almost 2 percent in 2016.

Economic situation metallurgical plants and rolling mills

VDMA Metallurgy / Metallurgical Plants and Rolling Mills – Industry starts 2019 with optimism
The results of the latest economic situation survey carried out in the Metallurgical Plants and Rolling Mills sector of the Metallurgy specialist association indicate sales growth of 11 percent in the second half of 2018. Starting from the low level of the previous year, growth in orders received also continued and accelerated during the same period (plus 30 percent). However, with a total value of slightly more than €1.4 billion*, the production volume in Germany was almost 10 percent below the previous year’s level.
VDMA Metallurgy - Metallurgical Plants and Rolling Mills: global growth provides a tailwind in 2017
For last year, the results of the latest economic situation survey of the Metallurgical Plants and Rolling Mills sector of the Metallurgy specialist association indicate sales growth in the low double-digit range (12 percent) for last year. As regards orders received, there was also a slight upward trend in the second half of 2017 (up 3 percent). Growth was significantly more pronounced in the large industrial plant segment*. However, with a total value of slightly more than €1.5 billion, the production volume in Germany was about 5 percent below the figure for the previous year.
Metallurgical Plants and Rolling Mills: slight upward trend from low prior-year base
In the spring, the mood in the industry improved slightly. There was an upward trend in export data. Sales figures for January and February 2017 and the results of the economic situation survey carried out by the VDMA Metallurgical Plants and Rolling Mills specialist association indicates that sales will no longer stagnate this year.

Economic situation thermo process technology

VDMA Metallurgy / Thermo Process Technology: Good economic situation boosts sales by 33 percent in 2018, Exports by world market leader Germany grow by 4 percent, Trend for 2019 points to stagnation at a high level
Thanks to the boost provided by favourable conditions in the world economy, German thermo process equipment manufacturers experienced two years of growth in succession. While sales grew by 11 percent nominally in 2017, there was further significant growth of 33 percent in 2018. Last year, orders received were up by 8 percent on 2017. Production of thermo process equipment in Germany grew by 16 percent in 2018 to over €2.3 billion*, the second highest value after the result for 2011.
VDMA Metallurgy / Thermo Process Technology: Turnaround for the world market leader in 2017
2017 saw a turnaround for German thermo process equipment manufacturers. This was already apparent at the beginning of 2017. Over the course of the year, there was a further slight fall in orders from countries outside the Eurozone. However, strong investments in the Eurozone resulted in a sales increase of 10 percent on annual average compared with the previous year. In 2017, the production volume of this sector in Germany recovered by almost 8 percent.
VDMA Thermo Process Technology: Germany increases market share, with decline in world trade
World trade in thermo process equipment fell by 11 percent in 2016 as a whole. Nevertheless, Germany was able to increase its market share to 19 percent and remained the world market leader.

Market information - automotive industry

The Auto-News offer world-wide and up-to-date information on the automotive industry and their suppliers.
The economic reports are prepared for the countries Brazil, China, India, Mexico, Romania, Russia, Czech Republic, Turkey, Ukraine and USA.
Ines Polak
Ines Polak
Marketing, Statistics and Market Information
+49 69 6603-1237
+49 69 6603-2237

Konjunktur - Branche Gießereimaschinen

VDMA Metallurgy / Gießereimaschinen: Umsätze 2018 um 17 Prozent gewachsen und 2019 Rückgänge im einstelligen Bereich erwartet
Der Umsatz der deutschen Gießereitechnik-Hersteller übertraf im vergangenen Jahr mit plus 17 Prozent nominal die Erwartungen und erreichte damit einen vorläufigen Höchststand. Die Inlandsproduktion hielt jedoch nicht Schritt und verringerte sich um 14 Prozent auf einen Volumenwert von 927 Mio. Euro*. Gegenüber dem hohen Auftragseingangsniveau des Jahres 2017, gaben die Order-Eingänge 2018 mit minus 2 Prozent leicht nach. Im ersten Quartal 2019 allerdings zeigt sich eine klare Trendwende. Im Vergleich mit dem Aufschwungstrend im Vorjahreszeitraum halbierten sich die Neuaufträge fast. Aufträge aus dem Nicht-Euro-Ausland lagen bis zum Jahreswechsel im Aufwärtstrend und schlossen 2018 20 Prozent über Vorjahr ab. Nach dem Jahreswechsel kehrte sich auch hier der Trend um, wie zuvor bereits bei den Aufträgen aus den Euro-Ländern.
VDMA Metallurgy / Gießereimaschinen – weiter auf Wachstumskurs
Die Umsatzbilanz 2017 der deutschen Hersteller von Gießereimaschinen zeigt gegenüber dem Vorjahr mit plus 6 Prozent eine deutliche Erholung. Dies ist insbesondere auf ein gestiegenes Umsatzvolumen in den Nicht-Euroländern zurückzuführen. Dieses lag im Durchschnitt um 25 Prozent über dem Vorjahr. Auftragsseitig konnten 2017 im Durchschnitt des Jahres 3 Prozent Zuwachs verbucht werden, aufsetzend auf einer hohen Basis aus dem Vorjahr. Während dabei die Aufträge aus dem Inland leicht rückläufig waren, setzte sich der positive Trend bei den Orders aus dem Euro-Raum verstärkt fort.
VDMA Gießereimaschinen: Hersteller rechnen 2017 mit moderatem Umsatzwachstum
Weltweit ging der Handel der Branche 2016 um über 13 Prozent zurück. In diesem Umfeld wuchsen die deutschen Gießereimaschinen-Exporte 2016 um knapp 2 Prozent.

Konjunktur Hütten- und Walzwerkeinrichtungen

VDMA Metallurgy / Hütten- und Walzwerkeinrichtungen – Branche optimistisch ins Jahr 2019 gestartet
Die Ergebnisse der aktuellen Konjunkturumfrage der Branche der Hütten- und Walzwerkeinrichter im Fachverband Metallurgy weisen für das zweite Halbjahr 2018 ein Umsatzplus von 11 Prozent aus und auch bei den Auftragseingängen hatte sich in diesem Zeitraum auf niedriger Vorjahresbasis der Aufwärtstrend fortgesetzt und verstärkt (plus 30 Prozent). Die Inlandsproduktion lag dabei allerdings mit einem Gesamtwert von knapp über 1,4 Mrd. Euro* um knapp 10 Prozent unter dem Vorjahr.
VDMA Metallurgy - Hütten- und Walzwerkeinrichtungen - globales Wachstum sorgt 2017 für Rückenwind
Die Ergebnisse der aktuellen Konjunkturumfrage der Branche der Hütten- und Walzwerkeinrichter im Fachverband Metallurgy weisen für das vergangene Jahr ein Umsatzplus im niedrigen zweistelligen Bereich (plus 12 Prozent) aus und auch bei den Auftragseingängen hat sich im zweiten Halbjahr 2017 wieder ein leichter Aufwärtstrend eingestellt (plus 3 Prozent). Dieser fiel im Großanlagenbau deutlich höher aus*. Das Produktionsvolumen in Deutschland lag allerdings mit einem Gesamtwert von knapp über 1,5 Milliarden Euro um rund 5 Prozent unter dem Vorjahr.
Hütten- und Walzwerkeinrichtungen: Zaghafter Aufwärtstrend auf niedriger Vorjahresbasis
Zum Frühjahr hellte sich die Stimmung der Branche ein wenig auf. Die Exportdaten der Monate Januar und Februar 2017 zeigen aufwärts und das Ergebnis der Konjunkturumfrage des VDMA Fachverbandes Hütten- und Walzwerkeinrichtungen lässt auf etwas mehr als eine schwarze Null für dieses Jahr hoffen.

Konjunktur Thermoprozesstechnik

VDMA Metallurgy / Thermoprozesstechnik: Gute Konjunktur sorgte 2018 für Umsatzplus von 33 Prozent, Weltmarktführer Deutschland steigert Exporte um 4 Prozent, Trend 2019 zeigt in Richtung Stagnation auf hohem Niveau
Der Auftrieb durch die günstige Weltkonjunktur bescherte den deutschen Herstellern von Thermoprozesstechnik zwei Wachstumsjahre in Folge. Wuchsen die Umsätze 2017 nominal um 11 Prozent, so stiegen sie 2018 mit 33 Prozent weiter deutlich an. Die Auftragseingänge lagen im letzten Jahr um 8 Prozent über dem Vorjahr. Die Thermoprozesstechnik-Produktion in Deutschland legte 2018 um 16 Prozent zu und erreichte mit einem Volumen im Wert von über 2,3 Mrd. Euro* ihren zweithöchsten Wert nach dem Ergebnis im Jahr 2011.
VDMA Metallurgy / Thermoprozesstechnik: positive Trendwende für den Weltmarktführer 2017
2017 war das Jahr der positiven Trendwende für die deutschen Thermoprozesstechnik-Hersteller. Diese setzte bereits zum Jahresbeginn 2017 ein. Über das Jahr blieben zwar die Nichteuro-Auslandsorders weiter leicht rückläufig. Die starke Investitionstätigkeit in den Euroländern unterstützte jedoch 2017 das Ansteigen der Umsätze um 10 Prozent im Jahresdurchschnitt gegenüber dem Vorjahr. Das Produktions-volumen der Branche erhöhte sich 2017 in Deutschland um nahezu 8 Prozent.
VDMA Thermoprozesstechnik: Deutschland erhöht Marktanteil bei rückläufigem Welthandel
Der Welthandel mit Thermoprozess-Equipment ging 2016 insgesamt um 11 Prozent zurück. In diesem Umfeld konnte Deutschland seinen Marktanteil auf 19 Prozent ausbauen und bleibt damit Weltmarktführer.

Marktinformationen zur Automobilindustrie

Die Auto-News bieten weltweite, aktuelle Informationen zur Automobilindustrie und ihren Zulieferern.
Die Konjunkturberichte werden für die Länder Brasilien, China, Indien, Mexico, Rumänien, Russland, Tschechien, Türkei, Ukraine, USA erstellt.
Ines Polak
Ines Polak
Marketing, Statistik und Marktinformation
+49 69 6603-1237
+49 69 6603-2237